Universal Technical Services or UTS Complaint

Universal Technical Services or UTS Complaint

ADVERTISEMENT

Do not purchase extended warranty on exercise equipment from Sears - Extended Warranty


It has been my experience just now not to purchase the extended warranty from Sears when it comes to exercise equipment. We purchased a NordicTrack Audiostrider 990 on March 11, 2008. We now need warranty repair. After calling Sears, they told me that I needed to contact Universal Technical Services, who offers the extended warranty through Sears. They told me that NordicTrack warranty covers the frame, motor, parts and all labor charges for one year. This is correct according to the NordicTrack website as of today, June 9, 2008. UTS told me that I needed to contact NordicTrack which I did. NordicTrack wants me to go to a hardware store and purchase tools to take apart the machine and to mess with the flywheel to solve the problem that we have with our NordicTrack elliptical trainer. I am not comfortable doing this labor since 1)Sears sold me an extended warranty which was supposed to cover everything for 3 years. 2)UTS is the company that offers and is supposed to honor this 3 year warranty and make needed repairs as needed. 3)NordicTrack should honor their policy of covering this product for one year.

I purchased the 3 year extended warranty and should have this warranty honored from UTS. They should cover all warranty related issues. I was asked by a representative at UTS..."Well, would you like to use your once a year (annual) maintenance visit now?" NO! I shouldn't have to use my "once a year" maintenance visit for a warranty problem. I don't need a maintenance visit...I have an extended warranty problem and it needs attention.

As a consumer feel betrayed by all 3 parties and the warranty that is offered by these companies, especially Universal Technical Services.

After being tossed around from Sears to UTS and UTS to NordicTrack, it appears that the blame and "passing the buck" stops at the manufacturer, NordicTrack. NordicTrack will send someone to check the unit and repair it for me with a $5.99 handling fee and a $45.00 service charge.

This is NOT what I signed up for when I purchased the optional 3 year extended warranty and paid for this.


Share This Review:



         


Is this your Business? Claim Your Business Free and reply to this customer

CONTACT THIS BUSINESS

Post a reply for this review COMMENT
WRITE to Universal Technical ...
SUBMIT a ticket
for Universal Technical ...
WATCH videos
for Universal Technical ...
More Universal Technical Services or UTS Reviews and Complaints MORE reviews and complaints
for Universal Technical ...

BUSINESSES REPLY HERE

Company was claimed GREAT NEWS, this company has Partnered with MeasuredUp and uses it to answer you!
Link to MeasuredUp BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Excellence Badge
Take the pledge BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Pledge Badge
Upgrade Account BUSINESSES: Build your customer service online reputation


ADVERTISEMENT


Comments


sabrina1aaa says: (1 year ago)
 0
UTS ACTUALLY MADE MY TREADMILL UNBEARABLY TOO LOUD BY REPLACING THE DECK AND USING OLD SIDE RAILS TO HOLD IT SO THE DECK BANGS WHEN WALKED ON . 2 YEARS LATER THEY ARE STILL SAYING THE SIDE RAIL IS ON BACK ORDER AND THE CANT DO ANYTHING...YET THEY TOOK OVER 600 DOLLARS FROM ME FOR THE EXTENDED WARRANTIES.



alina says: (5 years ago)
 0
I am boycotting sears! I purchased a useless 5 year extended warranty. After speaking with 12 different representatives, who essentially passed the buck I ended my endevour dissapointed. I was told by a store manager that the excersize equipment I had purchased really only had a 5 year life expectancy. So selling me an extended warranty for this useless product constitutes as fraud in my opinion. After 13 telephone calls 4 hours of being on hold, speaking to a lovely customer service rep located in the Philipeans who was so sorry she couldn't help me; I have decided never to step foot into a Sears store for the rest of my life. No confidence in a store that does not honor it's word! Sears=no integrity



kevlev2002 says: (5 years ago)
 0
My experience is that UTC doesn't follow-up and it takes about 4 months to get resolution, way too long in my opinion. I'm not happy with their lack of service.



piercedfrog says: (5 years ago)
 0
I purchased a treadmill from sears with the 3 year extended warranty through UTS, I cancelled the warranty before the manufacturer warranty was up and requested the refund of $184.99. I received my check after a few months and when I deposited it the bank denied it saying it was a "bogus" check...they are sending me the check back in the mail, stated it was a "non negotiable" check....what the heck?! Now I have to try and find their number and sit on hold for an hour to talk to someone about it...DO NOT GET THEIR WARRANTY!!



runningman says: (5 years ago)
 0
On my 6th service call and 2nd Nordic Track Treadmill in 3 years. Service is HORRIBLE.... This time my Treadmill has been broken for 2 months and no end in site on if, when, or how the machine will be prepared. Keep getting duplicate parts sent to the house and none of which seem to be the right ones. Mechanics report they have corrected the problem but haven't. SEARS and UTS have taken customer service to new lows. I am at the point where I will NEVER make a major purchase from SEARS.



treadmilltech says: (5 years ago)
 0
If you're in the Los Angeles area, our exercise equipment service and repair company has an excellent reputation and would love to help you. Please feel free to email us at treadmillrepair@gmail.com or call 888-GYM-REPAIR (888-496-7372) to contact us. You can check out our great reviews from happy customers at www.exerepair.com, or on Los Angeles Craigslist under "skilled labor", on yelp.com, or angieslist.com.



fkillam says: (6 years ago)
 0
How did you end up dealing with your fitness equipment problem? Did you go with the Nordic Track paid visit? Have you needed further maintenance? Thanks in advance for your reply and any advice! I am looking for a new treadmill and am getting very nervous about maintenance support.



ryan says: (6 years ago)
 0
thats right folks.. thats what you get for buying fitness products from china. some might say made in canada or usa. buy i know for a fact they are not/ take a look under the motor cover at the front. dont be afraid to ask to see the motor. take a look at each componet and read wheres its made. alot of products now are only assembled in north america.(if that) how i know all this because i had some sears fitness equitment. i starting talking to other people who have boughten from there also. did you know sear's 3000 dollar tredmill has the same motor as the 500 dollar model. bigger plasic shrouds give the allusion that the more expensive model offers more under the hood. you people should stop shoping the big stores and give the smaller stores a chance. look at kettler. there a german manufactuer. they offer great products. and are almost the only ones not in china. pumphouse fitness in surrey sells them.. and offer a 3 -5 day( depending on how busy they are) service call if any thing goes wrong. i recently bought a kettler modeo elliptical.. kettler x1 upright bike. and kettler recumbent bike for my house.. ive had it two years now.. and havent had any problems .



nothappywithuti says: (6 years ago)
 0
i recently had to call UTI and i waited for more than 30 min for them to awnser the phone and then when the operator awnsered he was rude UTI has VERY VERY BAD costermer service.



mlwalker1 says: (6 years ago)
 0
These guys are AWFUL DO NOT buy an extended warranty from them THEY SUCK!!!! I have been sitting on hold for long enough that their line actually cut me off. I also have an audiostrider 990 that I have had problems with since day one. the incline motor was shot when we put it together. they belt has gone out twice and to get the warranty department to communicate with you is a NIGHTMARE!! I live in Gillette WY so Our service rep has to come out of Montana to do our work.. By the way the Service guys Montana Health and fitness are WONDERFUL but their hands are tied until the Warranty guys -who won't answer the phone or return your calls - put a work order into the system for them to respond to there isn't anything that can be done. And wehn you live a couple of hundred miles from the service center it usually means you get to wait- to try and get anything done so again DO NOT buy a warranty from these guys!!!



bobfskye says: (6 years ago)
 0
I am still under UTS extended NordicTrack warranty. The axle on my recumbantbike is loose. I m well beyond the Sears 1 year warranty. My UTS warrantee is good until September, 2009. I have not contacted anyone yet, but I've read the back of my warranty closely. It states that they "will pay for parts and labor nessary to repair mechanical/electrical breakdown caused by defects in workmanship or materials in the covered product, or, atour option, may replace it with a similar product of equivalent value."
I think my product was assembled poorly. what do you think? Does you warranty have the same language I've included above?
Bob Skye




login with Facebook and share your reviews

More Universal Technical Services or UTS reviews


More

Similar reviews


More

[Top]

Bookmark/Share this page

This page is under construction.
It will be up and running soon with new features to make you smile more.
Thanks,
The MeasuredUp Team